WACE Requirements


Western Australian Certificate Of Education

(WACE) 2023

The Western Australian Certificate of Education (WACE) is awarded to secondary school students who satisfy its requirements. Students will, generally, complete two years of senior secondary study and if they demonstrate the required levels of achievement, they are awarded the Western Australian Certificate of Education.


All Year 11 and 12 course results are reported annually to the School Curriculum and Standards Authority (SCSA). Students who discontinue a certificate course will be credited with the units of competency achieved.

General Requirements

  • Demonstrate a minimum standard of literacy (reading and writing) and a minimum standard of numeracy
  • Complete a minimum of 20 units, or equivalents
  • Complete
    • at least four Year 12 ATAR courses OR
    • at least five Year 12 General courses and/or ATAR courses or equivalent OR
    • a Certificate II (or higher) VET qualification in combination with ATAR, General or Foundation courses

Literacy and Numeracy Standard

  • Pre-qualify through achieving Band 8 or higher in the reading, writing and numeracy tests of the Year 9 National Assessment Program – Literacy and Numeracy (NAPLAN), OR
  • Demonstrate the minimum standard of literacy and numeracy by successfully completing the relevant components of the Onliine Literacy and Numeracy Assessment (ONLA) in Year 10, 11 or 12

Breadth and Depth

Complete a minimum of 20 units, which may include unit equivalents attained through VET and/or endorsed programs.


This requirement must include at least:

  • A minimum of ten Year 12 units, or the equivalent
  • Four units from an English course, post-Year 10, including at least one pair of Year 12 units from an English learning area course


One pair of Year 12 units from each of List A (arts/languages/social sciences) and List B (mathematics/science/technology) subjects

Achievement Standard

Achieve at least 14 C grades or higher (or equivalents) in Year 11 and Year 12 units, including at least six C grades (or equivalents) in Year 12 units

Unit Equivalent

Unit equivalents can be obtained through VET qualifications and/or endorsed programs. The maximum number of unit equivalents available through VET and endorsed programs is four Year 11 units and four Year 12 units with a maximum of four units with endorsed programs – two in Year 11 and two in Year 12

For further information visit School Curriculum and Standards Authority.